skip navigation

Board of Directors

The Pre-Academy Program, Academy (formerly Rec Soccer) Program, and Eastern Illinois FC are all governed by the Charleston Soccer League. The League was established in 1977 and has gone on to provide opportunities for thousands of children to play organized soccer in Coles County and the surrounding areas. The League is maintained by parents and other volunteers who are elected to the CSL Board of Directors. The Board is a 'working' board; each member joins with the expectation that they will be called upon to meet, organize committees, and perform field duties as needed on a regular basis. If it weren't for the hard work and dedication of our Board, these soccer programs would not be here today!

The CSL Board meets every 3rd Monday of the month, typically at 7:00pm. Meetings are held in the basement OR council chambers of the Charleston City Hall at 520 Jackson Avenue, Charleston, IL 61920. Check our Calendar and keep up with us on social media for announcements relating to meeting updates. Meetings are open to the public!

If you are interested in joining our Board, please contact the President or call the Charleston Parks & Recreation Department at 217-345-6897.

Charleston Soccer League Executive Board

Term limit expires annually (July - June)

Officer Title: Member

President: Laura Smallhorn



Charleston Soccer League Board of Directors

Board Members are appointed to 3 year terms

Comprised of no more than 13 members

Member - Term Ends

Ed Abou Zaid - 2019

Jack McGrath - 2020

Laura Smallhorn - 2020

Megan Merrill - 2020

Steve Ballinger - 2020

Tim Meister - 2020

Melissa Kuo - 2020

Kate Klipp - 2020

Non-Elected Members of the Board


Director of Coaching: Vacant

CHS High School Boys Coach - Josh Garrett

CHS High School Girls Coach - Vacant


Athletic Supervisor, Charleston Parks & Recreation Dept.: Dirk Bennett

Referee Assignor / Facilities & Maintenance: Ron Potsch